Western Esoteric Art

The Magus, Book 1
The rarest of the 19th century grimoires

The Magus, Book 1, Western Esoteric Art

In the decades between Newton and Darwin, and 100 years into the Age of Enlightenment, the eccentric occult philosopher Francis Barrett translated and compiled a massive compendium of magical knowledge. Published in 1801, The Magus contained selections from Cornelius Agrippa’s third and fourth books of occult philosophy, the Heptameron of Peter of Abano, and writings by Zoroaster, Apollonius, and many other early magicians. Together in one volume, The Magus became one of the most sought-after occult books of the 19th and 20th centuries, influencing occultist Eliphas Levi, the practices of the fraternal order, The Golden Dawn, and remains one of the foundations of ceremonial magic practice to this day.

The Magus is a long book, divided into two volumes. We’ll be putting up as many chapters as we have time to add, starting at the beginning. Check back for updates, or email us at [email protected] encourage us to finish.

Reed Enger, "The Magus, Book 1, The rarest of the 19th century grimoires," in Obelisk Art History, Published August 26, 2017; last modified October 31, 2022, http://www.arthistoryproject.com/timeline/age-of-discovery/western-esoteric-art/the-magus-book-1/.

Read More
PrefaceIntroduction to the Study Of Natural MagicNatural Magic DefinedOf The Wonders Of Natural MagicOf Amulets, Charms, And EnchantmentsOf Unctions, Philters, Potions, & Their Magical VirtuesOf Magical Suspensions And AllegationsOf AntipathiesOf The Occult Virtues Of ThingsOf The Wonderful Virtues Of Some Kind Of Precious StonesOf The Mixtures Of Natural ThingsOf The Art of Fascination, Binding and Sorceries
More about
Western Esoteric Art, Age of Exploration

Western Esoteric Art

The best truth is secret truth

1690 – 1947

By continuing to browse Obelisk you agree to our Cookie Policy