The Graces

In the ancient culture of Greece, among a myriad of gods and goddesses, it was believed that three young women called the charities guided the positive elements of human nature. The women, sometimes described as the daughters of Zeus or Dionysus, were named Aglaea, meaning splendor, Euphrosyne, mirth, and Thalia, good cheer. Together they were the sponsors of charm, beauty, nature, creativity, and fertility. When Roman culture subsumed the Greek city-states, the charities were adopted as The Graces, and the goddesses lived on. They reappeared again during the Italian Renaissance, with the popularity of allegorical paintings and the rediscovery of classical Roman myth, and continue to be a popular subject through the modern era.

Reed Enger, "The Graces," in Obelisk Art History, Published July 05, 2017; last modified October 12, 2022,
Read More
Mars Disarmed by Venus and the Three Graces, Jacques-Louis David

Mars Disarmed by Venus and the Three Graces Jacques-Louis David, 1822 – 1824

The Three Graces, Ancient Rome

The Three Graces 200CE

The Three Graces, Marie Bracquemond

The Three Graces Marie Bracquemond, 1880

The Three Graces, Marie Laurencin

The Three Graces Marie Laurencin, 1921

More Themes in Art
View All
Griffin, Mythology


Monsters, Mythology


By continuing to browse Obelisk you agree to our Cookie Policy