The Four Continents

Peter Paul Rubens, 1612 – 1615
The Four Continents, Peter Paul Rubens
The Four Continents, zoomed in
209 cmThe Four Continents scale comparison284 cm

The Four Continents is a Rococo Oil on Canvas Painting created by Peter Paul Rubens from 1612 to 1615. It lives at the Kunsthistorisches Museum, Vienna in Vienna. The image is in the Public Domain, and tagged Allegory. SourceDownloadSee The Four Continents in the Kaleidoscope

Peter Paul Rubens’s The Four Continents personifies the continents of Europe, Asia, Africa and America as beautiful women, lounging nude with the male personifications of their major rivers: the Danube, the Ganges, the Nile and the Río de la Plata. It’s a lush, sexy scene heightened by the surreal presence of wild beasts, upended decor, and putti playing on the edge of danger.
Read More

By continuing to browse Obelisk you agree to our Cookie Policy